Skip to content

Foodie Fridays: Rosemary Potatoes

August 23, 2013

Potatoes & rosemary

Today is my first ever Friday in which I blog about food. I’m not a foodie. I think that carbs & starches are pure bliss. Spaghetti & garlic bread is my version of a perfect meal. It doesn’t really have to be distinct or unique in anyway for me to like it. The sauce can be home made from fresh garden ingredients & the noodles & bread home made from a secret recipe known only to eight people in the world (3 of them famous chefs). But I’ll like it fine if its not. Just thought I should admit that right off.  Now on to the fun stuff 🙂

I like to experiment with cooking and I like to talk about those experiments. So on Fridays, I will be chronicling my discoveries and my mistakes.

I’ve been keeping up a starter kitchen garden. I’m a total noob at it but I’ve been having a blast. We’ve planted some herbs and have some tomatoes and cucumber plants going as well.

Combining my love of starches & my new found interest in gardening, I have discovered the perfect vessel for enjoying herbs…. The potato. Earlier this week I mixed chives & garlic in with a heavenly blend of mashed red potatoes and sour cream. It was wonderful. Now that I had that off my culinary bucket list, I still had lots of herbs in the garden just sitting there, waiting to be picked. I also had leftover potatoes.

I cut one of the potatoes into thin slices. Then I drizzled it with olive oil. I ground salt & pepper over it. Then I put on the rosemary and cooked it at 350 for about half an hour. I figured it was done when it browned a little bit around the edges. The browned edges were the tastiest part I thought. It made for a delicious lunch on a chilly, rainy afternoon.

Do you have a favorite herb to eat with your potatoes? Or do you have a different way to do potatoes and rosemary? I just cooked it the first way that came to mind. I would love to hear more ideas.

From → Food

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Stretchmarklandia

You look good. So, so good.

Secrets of Happiness

Your Spiritual Guidance

Yo Voy a Ti

"Yo voy a Ti" is an organization that works with children and youth in both Bolivia and Uganda.

SFoxWriting.com

Something For Everyone's Needs

Scottish Vision

A journey with a Scottish photographer

An Old Song with a New Dance

discovering new steps to an ancient tune

Nic Widhalm is Mad

Does writing make you a little crazy? Join the club.

Cognitioneducation

A collection of my thoughts and essays about education, psychology, parenting, and culture

chrismcmullen

Writing, Publishing, and Marketing Ideas

Maine Forest Cafe

Reading & Writing with Words & Light

Fanny Packing // Bum Bagging Adventures

Exploring the world one step at a time.

from here to ecology

all things ecological on my journey from call centre monkey to professional ecologist

Eul culinar

Where the baked goodies are.

Megan Has OCD

About Mental Health, Daily Struggles, and Whatever Else Pops in My Head

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

Adventuring With Anxiety

Formerly Red Tulips & Yellow Wallpaper

the adventures of ernie bufflo

things magical and mundane: parenting | disability | lifestyle | commentary

AESME

Florist & Stationer | Oxford, England

beckyofmoonlitoaks

Adventures in imagination, hiking, food, books, & coping with anxiety. © 2013

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

