Skip to content

The High Sierras: Day 4

September 18, 2013

I felt energized when I woke up.  We ate our oatmeal & packed up camp quickly.  I converted all the nervous energy about my missing brother, I put into hiking.  I was practically running on the trail whenever it was flat and sandy.  I slowed down when it got steep just out of respect for how far out in the woods we were and how hard it would be to get out on a sprained ankle.  We stopped briefly every so often for water or snacks.  For lunch we had bagels with these tiny packets of peanut butter & honey.  We were dropping altitude so my appetite was starting to come back.  That lunch was absolute heaven.

I was so determined to get out, I didn’t notice pain until about mile 8.  My knees finally got painful then.  I made up a chant to distract myself.  Then I fund something that made me really happy.  I was off-trail when I noticed an animal path.  On it were foot prints.  The shoes looked about my brothers size and when I tried stepping in them, the gait felt sort of like his.  I followed this to the main trail where my parents were resting. I showed them.  

We’d felt all the time out there like we were the only people in the woods.  These were the first human footprints we’d seen since starting out.  The foot prints had turned off the animal trail onto our path heading towards the trailhead.  I felt renewed energy whenever I noticed one of those foot prints.  I thought to myself, “Humans really are predatory creatures.  We have these natural bursts of energy that come from tracking.”  

Another mile in and the foot prints went off route onto another animal trail.  I was in serious pain at this point  but I wanted to follow the track to see if it really was my brother.  My parents argued against this plan & it later became apparent that it would not have been a good idea.  But I am getting ahead of the story.

We hiked into the trailhead right at sunset.  We found that parked next to our car was my brother’s car!  It had nearly as many pine needles as ours did -meaning he had been out for days.  I felt tears forming in my eyes again.  I had pushed myself very hard and exceeded expectations only to find that my brother was still out there somewhere.  

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Stretchmarklandia

You look good. So, so good.

Secrets of Happiness

Your Spiritual Guidance

Yo Voy a Ti

"Yo voy a Ti" is an organization that works with children and youth in both Bolivia and Uganda.

SFoxWriting.com

Something For Everyone's Needs

Scottish Vision

Image Imagination

An Old Song with a New Dance

discovering new steps to an ancient tune

Nic Widhalm is Mad

Does writing make you a little crazy? Join the club.

Cognitioneducation

A collection of my thoughts and essays about education, psychology, parenting, and culture

chrismcmullen

Writing, Publishing, and Marketing Ideas

Maine Forest Cafe

Reading & Writing with Words & Light

Fanny Packing // Bum Bagging Adventures

Exploring the world one step at a time.

from here to ecology

all things ecological on my journey from call centre monkey to professional ecologist

Eul culinar

Where the baked goodies are.

Megan Has OCD

About Mental Health, Daily Struggles, and Whatever Else Pops in My Head

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

Adventuring With Anxiety

Formerly Red Tulips & Yellow Wallpaper

the adventures of ernie bufflo

things magical and mundane: parenting | disability | lifestyle | commentary

AESME

Florist & Stationer | Oxford, England

beckyofmoonlitoaks

Adventures in imagination, hiking, food, books, & coping with anxiety. © 2013

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

